Review: Mushishi Zoku Shou, Second Season + Movie: Suzu no Shizuku

This review would only serve as the extension of the previous post I had for this series, which only talked about the first season and its special episode.

As it was in the first season, the incredible writing was also brought in the second season. However, I think the stories of Zoku Shou (ZS) and Zoku Shou Second Season (ZS2) seemed to be more powerful and emotional. Also there were more endings that didn’t result to smiles and laughters; I think that made it even more realistic (not that it wasn’t already!). I noticed majority of the themes in ZS/2 were about family. In some way, solving the mushishi problem was only the sub-story of the episode. It shows each family’s struggles, relationship with each other, and the way they cope up with all these things. I wish I could talk more about the small things I liked or disliekd in each episode, but that would take forever. (I personally hated the story on episode 18:

Multiple lightning strikes have been observed hitting the same tree, and Ginko investigates. He meets a strange boy who attracts lightning to himself due to a mushi’s influence. His mother believes he is doing it to spite her and struggles with the fact that she doesn’t love her child. (via Wikipedia)

—It was a heart-wrenching episode, and it was well-written despite my personal feelings towards the story itself because the situation was nothing new. It doesn’t mean that we should feign ignorance about it though.) Despite the serious tones of some of the episodes, it did not miss a little comedic comments and antics from Ginko with some of the characters (i.e. Episode 5 Mirror Lake).

The animation and art have been improved its quality, considering it was eight years after the last episode of season one aired. I’m sure the quality is at its best in its Blu-ray/DVD release (1, 2). The soundtrack is beautiful in this sequel too. I actually like their the opening theme “Shiver by Lucy Rose” more than the previous season’s opening theme song. Thank you to Mushishi, I discovered another artist with just my kind of music. Her songs were in my playlist on repeat; my sister got tired of me already (lol). Then I got a little giddy when I saw her in BBC’s Live Lounge doing a cover.

This review post may be rather brief, but there’s not much to say except kind words about this series. I loved this second season a tad bit more than the first, but overall, I am quite happy that I was able to watch all of it albeit in a relatively short time. I still personally hoped that there were more engaging scenes with Ginko. It is always nice to get to know the character because it just feels a little personal. (This also tends to lead embarrassing attachment to the character…!)

Animation/Art: 4/5
Story: 4/5
Characters: 5/5
Sound/VA cast: 5/5
Enjoyment: 4/5
Overall: 4.4/5

Leave a Reply

