First Impression: Heavy Object

I’m not gonna lie, but it bore me quite a lot. I watched the pilot episode late at night, so I was dozing off for a bit on the exposition part. I was doing my nightly routine at the same time as well so my focus wasn’t definitely on the show. I didn’t want to rewatch the exposition to get ahold of what is going on, so I just reread the plot summary (…which didn’t really help me, although I think I know enough to understand the premise).

So in their world, engineering and technology have taken another step further. They now have what you call “Objects” used as a weapon for wars. Based on the conversation between Qwenthur and Havia, actual soldiers of the military are now mere decorations. “Elites” who pilot the “Objects” are the ones doing field work, and there’s only a handful of them. In fact, Commander Capistrano comments on how the guns are now rusting in the storage.

There wasn’t anything special going on in the pilot episode, but an introduction to the premise and characters. I felt that there wasn’t any need for ecchi, and would have been better if it was a darker adaptation. (Note: I haven’t read the LN.) Because of its mild comedic take on it, it felt mediocre. I cringed on the scene where Milinda was suffocated by the belt restriction and Qwenthur was asked to do something about it. I find his internal struggle annoying. The whole scene was rather unnecessary too. Whether it was included or not, I don’t think it would take away anything important to the story.

What stood out to me, however, was the background art. The character designs pale in comparison to the detail of the setting and background. I wouldn’t say that the background/setting is over-the-top amazing, but you could see the difference when the character animation is placed in the frame. The CG isn’t that terrible, but could be improved. I also thought the VA cast seem to fit the characters, and opening theme is pretty good. Surprisingly, the characters are fairly likeable (albeit I’m not too fond of Qwenthur). Not too mention, Commander Capistrano is hot.

I usually decide after the first episode if I would drop the series or not, but I’m going to go with the three-episode rule this season. I would not like it if I misjudged a series that turned out to be ok in the end. Having said that though, if I went with my first-episode rule, I’m most likely dropping this one. We’ll see next week though.

Art/Animation: 3/5
Story: 1.5/5
Sound/VA cast: 4/5
Enjoyment: 1/5
Overall: 2.38/5

Leave a Reply

