First Impression: Gakusen Toshi Asterisk

So right off the bat, we were given a battle scene. It only lasted for a minute but for the time frame it was given, the fight was pretty good. As the episode ended, there seems to be a darker meaning to the initial fight scene of the girl (Amagiri Haruka) and the guy with a mask. It seems our protagonist (Amagiri Ayato)’s underlying objective is finding the truth about his sister, and I believe that will be the main plot although I suspect that there will one-two subplots regarding “Festa”–a popular fighting tournament among six schools. Winning this tournament will allow anything you wish for to be granted.

To be honest, this show gave me the “Mahouka” vibe. I’ve partly read the first LN book of Mahouka so I had quite the expectation on its anime adaptation, but it failed to reach that expectation. It lacked a specific spice for excitement. However, this show already got me interested. I think it gave me enough curiosity to want to check out the next episode. I’m a sucker for fantasy especially when it’s “magic in modern society” trope. There’s one thing that’s been constantly a problem for me in anime–ecchi. It’s not a necessity but it’s always there for fanservice, and it just ruins the potential of a series. So when majority of the pilot episode was filled with fanservice, I irked. Maybe it truly is part of the LN’s storytelling, who knows, but it just ruins it for me. (I’m probably going to tackle this topic more on a different post.)

Ignoring that aspect, I think the animation wasn’t too bad; there weren’t too many Picasso-like art in different angles of the animation. I’m not too impressed with the character designs but its art/animation did fit the background. I liked the color palette they used here too. However, the CG was unbearable; it was too awkward when placed in the frame.

We haven’t been introduced to all of the characters of the series, but so far, the VA cast for the people shown in the pilot episode fit the characters they played. Besides the cool opening theme, I thought the song was very nice as well.

I’m probably going to keep an eye on this for a few more episodes. We’ll see how this goes.

Art/Animation: 2/5
Story: 2/5
Sound/VA cast: 3.25/5
Enjoyment: 1.5/5
Overall: 2.2/5

Note: This post was written on October 4, 2015.

One thought on “First Impression: Gakusen Toshi Asterisk

Leave a Reply

