First Impression: Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen

Even after the pilot episode, I’m still clueless as to what really is the main plot. Obviously, Haku needs to find out who he is because apparently he doesn’t remember anything about himself, but I feel there’s more to it? Apparently what happened to him is he just woke up in a place he doesn’t know and was suddenly being attached my a monster. Lucky for him, he was saved by a girl with cat(?) ears and tail. Through the episode, we learn that having people with animal features is normal. Haku, on the other hand, doesn’t have any of those features.

The pilot episode gave me a slice-of-life vibe, but that doesn’t seem to be tagged as one of its genres. I feel that this series has its own charm, and I think I’m going to keep watching it. Haku’s personality is very much like me, which is probably why I’m interested in the series. His interaction with Kuon is quite comedic. Besides that, I particularly like the art and animation. The character designs were very nice, and the background/setting fit quite well with it. I’m not too fond of the VA cast for our two main protagonist though; I feel they don’t suit the character and personality. There isn’t much to go on since there wasn’t enough happening here. There’s no opening and ending theme either, so we’re most likely to see that on the next episode.

Art/Animation: 3.75/5
Story: 1.5/5
Sound/VA cast: 2.25/5
Enjoyment: 3/5
Overall: 2.38/5

Note: This post was written on October 4, 2015.

Leave a Reply

