Review: Kekkai Sensen

Two words to describe this show would be “absurd” and “madness.” I don’t usually compare shows to another because to each their own. However, the final episode has dawned me a confirmed realization—it felt like a mixture of K and Baccano!, and I like it. The craziness of this series is what attracted me to it. The pilot episode it self had me repeating a couple scenes to understand the possible premise, but even then, the real plot of it became more obvious on the next few episodes when it was later revealed that William Macbeth has somewhat a split personality since he has two people in one body. The other being “King of Despair” is our villain. The actual plot follows through the later half of the show, while the initial episodes focused on getting to know the Libra organization where Leonardo Watch is a part of. Even though we have these “down episodes,” it was a little enjoyable seeing the interactions between the members of the organization. It didn’t fail on the humor it came with. Its comedy wasn’t forced, and Leonardo’s dry humor definitely fits his character. I would say though that it doesn’t have a solid plot, and the show didn’t wrap up with all the answers, even though other individual episodes not related to the main plot was really good (episode 6/11, people; got me too emotional).

Speaking of characters, personally, I think everyone was written well! I’ve read some reviews saying they’re personalities are generic/typical. Yes, that may be true, but not all “generic” characters can be written good that it feels so natural that that is character’s personality. No outstanding character development but I thought it wasn’t really needed because the supporting characters’ personality balanced very well in the chaotic premise. Generally, the characters were very likable and not awkward. Each of them were given enough screen time that didn’t make them forgettable considering the cast is quite huge for a 12-episode show. The strongest element I thought was how they portrayed the family bonds between the Macbeth siblings as well friendship between the members of the organization. Despite all that though, I am not a huge fan of the VA cast. There are really some notable people here that they’ve acquired, but they just don’t fit some of the characters they play (personally). Probably the one that irks me the most is Nakai Kazuya as Zapp. I do like some of his works, but this one… not too fond of it.

Quite honestly, I almost forgot about this series because the final episode took such a long time to air that they excitement kind of died down. Correct me if I’m wrong but I heard because they got more prominent people on board to give “better quality animation.” The animation was pretty consistent until the last episode, and I didn’t particularly notice anything major. The action scenes, I’m sure, were hard to do and I think that’s why they needed more people; it was pretty decent, in my opinion. Overall, the animation was good—Bones-tier—albeit the awkward character animation in different angles is still ever-present in anime shows. The thing about it is that it fits the overall aura of the show and its background and settings, that’s why the other animation didn’t look weird in frame. The character designs were quite bizarre considering it is a supernatural setting. I particularly like the details on William Macbeth’s outfit, especially the New Balance shoes (lol). Personally, I love NB shoes. Not sure if sponsored.

I’m not gonna lie but there’s a lot of things that I’m confused about even after all that. Mostly about Leo’s past and his sister, as well as how this “King of Despair” fit into their world fueling even more mayhem. The plot may not be a 5/5, but it had its own charm that made me enjoy this show a lot especially with its strange premise and sense of humor. Plus, I deem it as having the best soundtrack ever of the spring 2015 lineup.

Animation/Art: 3/5
Story: 2.5/5
Characters: 3/5
Sound/VA cast: 5/5
Enjoyment: 4/5
Overall: 3.5/5

Note: This post was written on October 6, 2015.

Leave a Reply

