First Impression(s): Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai, Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider, and Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru

I have no excuse for being lazy. These shows are about to finish this week, I still have my first impression drafts undone. So I’m posting this: it’s more of a list I usually make as I watch an episode. It’s just to let you know what I initially thought of them. It’s raw and unedited, so I’m not too sure if you’ll understand what I meant by my notes. I just want to put it out here.

Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai

  • Good battle scene with Ohtori but lacks decent animation
  • Art/animation sucks in different angles and far views. Closeups are fine
  • Atypical male protagonist
  • However characters are too generic. Actions seem forced, awkward.
  • Don’t like the VA cast. Ohtori’s VA is a great actress but don’t fit the role.
  • Plot unknown
  • Blood scenes looked too force to make it seem like a “dark anime”
  • Boring theme song animation. Don’t like the song either.
  • Probably won’t continue watching it.

Status/Verdict: Dropped, even after the three-episode test. Too boring, also sucked.

Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider

  • Great art. Character animation not so much. Character design = don’t see Asana Inio’s style, more on Okuda Yoshiko (Black Lagoon, Saint Young Men, Sukitte Ii na Yo)
  • Theme performance = A. Animation is cool.
  • Intro to plot seems forced. Though it made me curious in the end. Dull pilot ep.
  • Plot seems to be one of those philosophical shows. Lots of mystery but feels like it will just be left unanswered in the end. Feels like Steins;Gate.
  • Characters doesn’t make me warm up to them. A bit too awkward? VA is good, but feels like the character doesn’t fit the VA not the other way around.
  • Moe’s a shallow character. Doesn’t seem to understand the curiosity scientists have and their appreciation to fellow colleagues. She’s too focused on getting the professor’s attention. Don’t like her character.
  • Saikawa’s not really a convincing character/professor, seems like a perverted old man in a body of a “young” professor. Don’t like the glorification of smoking, is it needed to make the professor look cool?

Status/Verdict: Not exactly dropped, might watch it eventually. Haven’t tried watching until episode 3. The pilot ep wasn’t that interesting to make me wanna watch the succeeding episodes.

Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru

  • Art and animation is good. CG isn’t that bad.
  • Weird liking for bones.
  • But it appears as a way to introduce it like a Sherlock show. With the observations.
  • Don’t like the opening theme song. Animation is cool though. I like the ending.

Status/Verdict: Surprisingly one of the shows this season that I kept up with. I just like this type of show that solves cases.

 

Other notes: I didn’t understand some of my comments when I read it again, lol. Don’t judge too much, I don’t know what was going on my mind or how I felt about the show at the moment when I wrote them. Again, raw and unedited. It can be hard to recall the reason behind each comment.

3 thoughts on “First Impression(s): Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai, Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider, and Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru

  1. I ended up liking Perfect Insider well enough (a lot more than Sakurako-san, actually), but I can definitely see why the show might not appeal to everyone. It did get really into its philosophical meanderings, especially in later episodes, and while the mystery was basically all tied up in the end, I think a lot of people just didn’t care about the characters enough to keep watching until then. But hey, can’t fault that OP! Definitely one of the coolest of the fall season. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting!

      I’ll still keep Perfect Insider in my to-watch list. I try not to judge a show solely by its pilot ep anymore, so hopefully my mind will change by ep 3 at least. If I have to be honest, the only reason that pulled me to watch it was that I read up that Asano Inio did the OC designs, haha! But nonetheless, mystery shows are nice if well done, it gives viewers a chance for some critical thinking.

      Like

      • You’re welcome! I’ve only just started reading your blog but you have some interesting content here, so if anything I should be thanking you for writing.
        Ideally, I think an anime should definitely grab viewers in during the first episode and make them curious to see more. Lots of anime get better as they go on of course, but if a title doesn’t pull you in immediately then that’s still a fault.

        Like

Leave a Reply

