Review: Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru

Well, this is one mouthful title.

Sakurako-san was not exactly part of my to-watch list, but when I get a little impatient waiting for other shows’ episodes, I start looking for other titles to watch. It came for me as surprise that I liked it. Sakurako gave me BBC’s Sherlock and CBS’s Elementary vibe albeit her personality is a tad bit more eccentric that either of their Sherlocks but a little closer to CBS’s version. I liked its take on how her skills come from her knowledge of bones. From the mystery shows I’ve watched, usually solving a case comes from their observational and deducing skills. Sakurako does have that but is also aided by her osteologist profession.

Others may not be fine with the cases being episodic, but I didn’t mind it. I’m used to watching shows like that, but the difference was that the others are normally an hour-long episode which made Sakurako look a bit fast paced and condensed. I guess that’s one of the cons of the show is that it didn’t give the viewer the chance to solve the mystery on their own. There were very little clues given that by the 15-minute mark, all of a sudden Sakurako knew everything that went down. I find it a little bit funny how her character downplays her explanation by saying, “…but I can be wrong.” But we know she’s always right.

A quick example I can give is the season finale’s case. When Sakurako deduced Yachi killed her own father, I was like, “Woah, where did that come from?” There was no indication whatsoever. For all we know, she was an accessory to murder but not the actual murderer.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that each case should be around at least two episodes. There were a couple episodes that I feel are more like filler episodes than anything (i.e. festival episode). There was no chance to even wrap up the actual mystery of the show, the Hanabusa case. Depending on the feedback, I’m thinking they’re hoping for another season so they left that cliffhanger. Other than those hiccups, overall, it wasn’t too bad. I liked Sakurako’s character although I don’t really see the point of Shoutarou’s. He’s probably there to give emotional balance to Sakurako so they don’t just give us a character with a few loose screws on her head.

For the other technical details, the opening and ending theme songs weren’t too bad. I’m probably deducting points because of Ishida Akira (Isozaki Itsuki). I’m not a fan of his voice acting here. Regards to the animation, the most beautiful scene has to be that moment when Sakurako goes to her thinking mode.

Animation/Art: 4/5
Story: 2.5/5
Characters: 2/5
Sound/VA cast: 4/5
Enjoyment: 3/5
Overall: 3.1/5

Leave a Reply

