First Impression: Akagami no Shirayuki-hime 2

Technically, it isn’t really a first impression if you know what I mean. Nonetheless, I would like to write down a few thoughts on the continuation of the story of Shirayuki and Company.

First of all, am I the only one that noticed the bottom-tier animation quality? It got a bit worse than the first season. It delivered, but not really on par or better than the prequel. I would think that given a season break, it will give them at least an episode or two a head start. Regardless of that hiccup, I think it was a nicely-paced comeback episode. It brought me back to why I have come to like this series–the romance isn’t rushed and “in your face.” Even though it was established that Zen and Shirayuki would be canon, it was done in a simple manner. Which brings me back again to this episode… The scenes between them shows their growing feelings with each other, and at the same time, they’re still doing their roles in the castle.

What I very much liked during this episode was how it was directed. My favorite scenes were:

  • Ryu hearing say Obi liked that kind of flower. I feel like even though he comes of as a naive boy, he had this level of understanding that it’s not just the flower that Obi liked. or it’s just me and my delusions again
  • Obi in the background adoring the flower Shirayuki was growing while she talked to Ryu.
  • Zen making a request to Izana about having one of his trusted people accompany Shirayuki to Tanbarun. I feel like Izana is totally against Zen/Shirayuki, but Shirayuki is one of the reasons, if not the main reason, Zen’s really stepping up, so Izana’s just letting it be for the moment.

I would definitely love to see the storyboards too!! I bet they would really deliver them a tad bit better if they had labor, time and budget. I feel like those are always the main reasons for animation quality.

The episode was not that bad. I’m interested who this Kazuki is too. It seems we have a concrete plot this time around. Also, the new opening/ending themes fit the tone and theme for the series!

Animation/Art: 2/5
Sound/VA cast: 3.75/5
Enjoyment: 4/5
Overall: 3.25/5

One thought on “First Impression: Akagami no Shirayuki-hime 2

Leave a Reply

