First Impression(s): Oshiete! Galko-chan & Dagashi Kashi

I normally don’t do two reviews in one post, but I thought since it’ll be relatively short for these two, it won’t hurt to go ahead with it. As I’ve mentioned on my first impression review on Stride, my FIR this season are taken on week three so I’ll get to know more about the show I’m writing about even though technically it is supposed to be just my initial thoughts on the pilot ep.

Oshiete! Galko-chan

I don’t watch shorts at all. If I did, it may be because the shorts are part of the main series (in between commercials). It was only until last season that I watched a bunch of them just for the heck of it. Nothing really popped out this season, though I was tempted to watch those stone idols (LOL), except this one. If you must know what exactly made me want to watch it, it was the moment my eyes read “Galko is slightly foul-mouthed…” on the summary–I was sold. It may be a turn off to a lot people, and I personally couldn’t care less, but I have quite the sailor’s mouth. I guess I took it in that way when I read the synopsis, but in actual translations on the show, they describe her as sharp-tongued. So good job to whoever wrote the short’s summary.

I have to admit, as embarrassing as it is, it’s my guilty pleasure show this season. I get really bad second-hand embarrassment so imagine me when I read or watch cringe comedy. Especially with this week’s episode, it’s like I don’t know whether to pause it because I got embarrassed by Otako or laugh because of what she was attempting to say.

I feel like this short is lowkey crude humor? I wouldn’t go as far as saying this show is refreshing, but contrary to popular belief, girls don’t talk about boys and gossip 24/7; it’s actually closer to the topics and questions presented in this show, which is really funny the way it was presented here. Apparently, their names and personalities are also supposed to be a pun to the Japanese subculture of “gyaru” for Galko and “otaku” for Otako. As for “Ojou,” it’s for a child of a high-class family.

I find this quite entertaining so it won’t be a dropped show for me. I’m not going to rate it either because there’s just not enough material to deliberate.

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

Dagashi Kashi

There’s a part of the internet where this series is popular enough to want me to check it out. I haven’t heard about this prior though.

The art is something new to what we usually see nowadays, and hilariously so, the style reminds me of ahegao. The pilot episode wasn’t too bad, I actually found it funny and amusing, but that did go downhill on the second episode. I felt the sketches got boring especially on the Whistle Candy and Pogs segment. As for episode three, I got the same thoughts too but it was slightly better than last week’s all because I’ve been really liking the interactions between Saya and Hotaru.

Surprisingly, I didn’t find any of the characters that annoying. I actually found Hotaru delightful, almost like a younger sister vibe but definitely a handful one. I feel our main character, Kokonotsu, though would be nothing without Hotaru. His characterization is just too boring for me. He doesn’t even make me want to root for him or anything. Hotaru definitely carries the show, he’s only there to make this series pass as a shounen title.

If I look at this on slightly more serious side, Hotaru will probably be the best employee in a company’s marketing or advertising department. I was thinking, with all the information she has on each snacks, she can use that to her advantage in those areas. One of the small things I also found interesting in this show were the snacks itself. It’s almost like Shokugeki no Soma, but in a smaller scale regarding only Japanese products.

Unfortunately, this will be a dropped series for me. I felt it was much better for it to be adapted as a short than a regular-length show. It gets boring fast, and the comedy gets old. I do want to quickly comment on the theme songs because they fit quite well with the tone of the story. It has this child-like(?) feeling. When you do talk about candies and snacks, we think of children.

Story: 1.75/5
Characters: 1.75/5
Animation/Art: 3/5
Sound/VA cast: 2.75/5
Enjoyment: 2/5
Overall: 2.25/5

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

2 thoughts on “First Impression(s): Oshiete! Galko-chan & Dagashi Kashi

  1. I don’t watch shorts either, but I did check out Nijiro Days. I haven’t watched either Galko-chan or Dagashi Kashi but maybe I might check it out? I’m not sure?
    Also, great blog! I love reading your posts!

    Like

    • Ah, I forgot Nijiiro Days is a short too, huh. I’m also watching it!

      I’m not gonna go as far as to recommend Galko-chan or Dagashi Kashi, but a lot of people consider the latter worth checking out. You might really like it in the end.

      Thank you so much for liking my blog! I appreciate it!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

