First Impression(s): Nijiiro Days, Dimension W, and Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

Nijiiro Days

I completely forgot that this was also a short. This is what I meant by how I wish Dagashi Kashi should also be one. This length seems about right for those skits, which is an advantage for me who has a short attention span. This was actually funny, especially the pilot episode’s karaoke segment. I was snickering more about the part that Keichii and Tomoya laughing at Natsuki than the predicament itself. What I like about the comedy is that there’s no dull moment. It’s been consistent so far until episode three. I think it’s also because the main characters’ odd quirks seem to mesh up together. It’s definitely hard not to laugh when it comes to high school boys (remember Daily Lives of High School Boys?).

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

Dimension W

The more episodes we get, the less we seem to know about what is going on. Week three still left me questions that needed to be answered. The art is ok, but I think it has one of the pretty good animation this season! It does have a peculiar moment when it sometimes closes in on a character while the background becomes color blocked. I’m not familiar with this style of direction, but it’s not really a problem for me. On another note, the mechanical details seem well thought-out. However, their world is not captivating enough to make feel that this is a time in the future. The story is a bit intriguing, but I feel it lacks something to give that “oomph.” The pacing is all right since it is steadily getting to the point of unfolding the plot.

I’m a bit neutral on our two main characters. Kyoma is this unorthodox collector who hates coils. There seems to be something that is holding him back from moving on that even his clothing dates back to ancient Japan. He doesn’t have any possession of coils, in fact, his own car runs on gas. (Personally, I wish he could be ecofriendly because of pollution, but cool car nonetheless.) There’s not much we know about him, and I’m itching to know because I’m starting to find his personality a little dull. Then he gets partnered up with a girl who’s too bubbly for her own good…

This seems average at most despite the decent visuals. I won’t drop it just yet.

Story: 2.25/5
Characters: 2/5
Animation/Art: 3/5
Sound/VA cast: 3.5/5
Enjoyment: 2.5/5
Overall: 2.65/5

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

I wish I can pretend to like this series, but I just can’t bring myself to even lie about it. Grimgar got me genuinely interested on the truth behind their world, but I can’t say the same with the characters. Frankly, I couldn’t care less about their backstory because they are just not as interesting as what the series is attempting to show me. They have very, very bland personalities, and the girls are annoying as fuck. It baffles me why a lot of anime out there doesn’t fail to have some kind of stereotype. What was up with the aggressive gay man stereotype too? It didn’t fall short on typical tropes during character interactions (e.g. second half of episode one, bath predicament on episode two, etc.). Give me a break. The premise may pique viewers’ interest, but the characterizations tick me off. However, I must say its best scene is episode two’s fight with the goblin. That’s the closest to realistic reactions that I’ve seen in this genre. It’s also nice to see how the characters are reasonably newbies. They’re not overpowering any goblins, and they’re slowly learning how to fight.

The pacing is slow, too slow for my taste. It’s like a really bad visual novel. Nonetheless, it is worth mentioning that it has surprisingly nice OST to fit each scene. The choice of the background music sets the right tone. The art illustrations during commercials are very beautiful as well. (If you know the artist/s, it’d be great if you can let me know too.) As interested I am with the premise, this series will drive me insane. It always feels like an eternity whenever I watch it so I’m going to do myself a favor and drop it. Clearly, this is not for me.

Story: 1.25/5
Characters: 1/5
Animation/Art: 1.75/5
Sound/VA cast: 3/5
Enjoyment: 0.75/5
Overall: 1.55/5

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

2 thoughts on “First Impression(s): Nijiiro Days, Dimension W, and Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

  1. Thank you for your Grimgar review–I felt exactly the same way. Slow, boring, the girls are annoying, and all the other characters make me fall asleep. I wanted to like this show but I totally got the same “this is going to drive me insane” feeling you did.

    Like

    • I instantly followed your blog when the content you have seem to match my feelings about some shows. Glad to hear we thought alike regarding Grimgar! Thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

