Spring ’16: To-Watch List

This season have begun, and I’m actually quite excited with the line up this time around! Last season, there wasn’t any new promising shows except Boku Machi and Rakugo (which I will writing up a “final thoughts” review very soon).

Anticipation Rate: 5/5

  • Bungou Stray Dogs – I like the art style. Bones is a consistent studio. I watched the PV, and plot looks absolutely interesting. It’s definitely the type of show that I watch the most, especially with its seinen and mystery genres.
  • Joker Game – I’m not gonna lie, I’m more interested of the fact that Shirow Miwa did the OC design than the plot itself (LOL). I’m a really huge fan of his works, so that was the initial attraction to this series when he announced he designed for JG. Although I’m inclined to believe that this might not be that bad in terms of the story.
  • Kiznaiver – I have close to zero knowledge regarding this series as it is an original by Trigger. The summary looks intriguing, but someone retweeted this over at Twitter saying it’s some new stuff coming out this spring which was how I knew about this. The only thing I knew were the character design visuals, and I liked it very much. OC design again was done by Shirow Miwa (I didn’t know about that ’til now that I’m writing this post!). The staff working on this seems top tier too.

Anticipation Rate: 3/5

  • Boku no Hero Academia – I was half way through volume 1 before I put a hold on it. I have a little problem with the over-bearing texts this manga has, in my opinion. There’s just so much texts and explanation going on that my attention dwindles down as I read through. So I think the anime will compress all that to people like me ;;
  • flying witch – It’s kind of my SoL pick for this season. Read the manga but haven’t kept up with it though.
  • Sakamoto desu ga? – Read 2/4 volumes of its manga. It’s supposed to be really funny, and heard some good stuff about it which is why I initially picked it up.

Anticipation Rate: 1/5

  • Kuromukuro – I want to see what PA Works has to offer this season. Personally, they’re a hit or miss, but more misses.
  • Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge – Another SoL.
  • Kuma Miko – A bizarre show with a talking bear. Why would it not make you check it out?

 

So what are some of the shows you might be watching this season?

One thought on “Spring ’16: To-Watch List

Leave a Reply

