First Impression: Haikyuu!! S3, Hibike! Euphonium S2, and Natsume Yuujinchou Go

Haikyuu!! S3

  • No fillers, just straight to the match… thank goodness! It gets the viewer engaged right away. I actually felt like the episode was too short. Definitely can’t wait for the next episode.
  • I’m a little behind on the manga, at c168, but the pilot episode had the feels come rushing back in again. It reminded me how I love this series. Each character whether main or supporting has a meaningful role, and I’m pretty excited to get to know the Shiratorizawa team—looks like an interesting bunch!
  • Not to mention, the VA cast is a good match for them.
  • OP/ED are always the right selection for this exciting new season. ED is an enjoyable tune matched with that art. I’m actually about to look up the artist now.

Animation/Art: 4/5
Sound/VA cast: 4.5/5
Enjoyment: 5/5
Overall: 4.5/5

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

Hibike! Euphonium S2

  • KyoAni is really doing a good job on this series. The animation is always great. I also like Ishihara-sensei‘s directing—the way he makes the scenes look so intimate, as if the viewer is trespassing. It makes me feel the emotions they’re trying to get across.
  • Oh boy, the drama too! I guess, there’s more to the issue that happened regarding the second years on the band, huh.
  • We’re introduced a new supporting character, and I’m definitely intrigued with Mizore’s backstory along with Nozomi.
  • I can see the character growth of the band because of their recent win. The overall atmosphere within them has definitely changed. Even then, you can see Kumiko’s old habit peeking despite the victory. She still have that inkling of doubt if they truly can take on the nationals. I feel like Reina’s motivation and energy is what allows her to keep that doubt at bay. Personally, I feel she’s the most relatable character I’ve seen in a while.
  • I don’t recall, but wasn’t the first season’s pilot episode ~45 minutes long as well? I was starting to wonder why this felt a little longer than usual, since I try not to check how many minutes are left in an episode.

Story: 3.5/5
Characters: 3.75/5
Animation/Art: 4/5
Sound/VA cast: 2.75/5
Enjoyment: 3/5
Overall: 3.4/5

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

Natsume Yuujinchou Go

  • LITERALLY CRYING. This is why Natsume has a special place in my fandom heart.
  • I definitely felt the emotions on the scene between Natsume/relative and Natsume/Tanuma, most especially the latter when he was talking about his childhood. (This scene was where I tried to hold back my tears, lol.) I truly think one of Kamiya Hiroshi’s best VA performance is in this series. Maybe I’m bias, but whatever.
  • This season looks like it’s focusing on seriously getting to know who Natsume Reiko was, not just from the glimpses of memories Natsume sees through the book and other youkai but from actual people who have interacted with her. That man who buys her manjuu might be his grandfather? Don’t know, but we’ll see.
  • Lovely ED performance by Aimer, as always. Not even finishing the verse, I recognized that wonderful voice. So glad she was selected to perform, her style and tune fits the overall theme of Natsume Yuujinchou.

Story: 3.5/5
Animation/Art:3/5
Sound/VA cast: 5/5
Enjoyment: 5/5
Overall: 4.13/5

Click any of the thumbnails below to view the gallery.

4 thoughts on “First Impression: Haikyuu!! S3, Hibike! Euphonium S2, and Natsume Yuujinchou Go

  1. Natsume Yuujinchou is back and all is right with the world. <3<3<3
    Definitely intrigued by the fact that this season might focus more on Reiko and her backstory – just what kind of human would intrigue her enough that she would want any kind of relationship with them at all, let alone a romantic/sexual one? I would've been totally okay with nothing more than exactly the same, because Natsume Yuujinchou is perfect and whole and doesn't need to change, but this just adds a little extra something and OMG so happy right now!!
    And yeah, the ED is wonderful. Not to hot on the OP, but maybe it'll grow on me?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad to hear your positive thoughts regarding the comeback of our beloved Natsume! I’m pretty excited for this new season as well, Reiko’s backstory should be an interesting one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

